Pumpkin Mash’d

PUMPKIN MASH’D

As I’m writing this post we are about a week away from Turkey Day- probably my favorite holiday.  The fall harvest is apon us, and I encourage you to source as many ingredients locally. Simply roasting winter vegetables is a great way to satisfy your carby sweet-tooth.  Try subbing them in for that pasta at your next meal.

This recipe calls for canned pumpkin because I wanted to make it as easy to prepare as possible…but if you have more time, roast your own (400 degree oven, 50-80 min):

OR

Pumpkin Mash’d

Serves 3

1 15oz can Pumpkin

1 small onion, finely diced

2 cloves garlic, grated

1 Tbls fresh ginger, grated

1 Tbls fresh rosemary, finely chopped

1 Tbsp oil (coconut or olive)

1/4 C stock (chicken or veg)

S & P

Sautee onions in oil over medium heat until translucent. Add garlic, ginger, and rosemary. Cook another 1-2 minutes. Add pumpkin and stock, and bring up to temperature. Season to taste. Garnish with rosemary sprig. Enjoy!

Be Well,

-Max

4 Responses

  1. hmm, I’ll make this pumpkin mash tonight !

  2. Interesting. That’s a new one for me.

    I wrote about some other mashed potato alternatives last week, but always though of pumpkin as more of a base to be topped with sweet.

    Just goes to show how we can be brainwashed by CW 😉

    • Grok, I think most people can relate to the marriage of pumpkin with sweet toppings, as you mentioned.
      Subbing in more nutrient rich foods for those starchy white spuds is always a good thing. I enjoyed your ideas on mashed alternatives, too. To send this dish over the top, sub in coconut milk for the broth…top with coconut shreds, too!

      • I think squash & brown sugar are like peas & carrots for most folks. Of course I don’t use sugar 😉

        Sounds good to me 🙂 *coconut fan*

Leave a Reply

