Why Do YOU Workout?

WHY DO YOU WORKOUT?

The Reasons Behind My Personal Training Style

A fellow trainer, and good friend of mine posed this question to me the other day…

“Ok Max, I have a question for you.. from one trainer to another:

What is your reasoning behind doing this many repetitions of the same excercises? I am just concerned that you are putting a lot of stress on various joints/ muscels, that perhaps ( please give me your input/ feedback on this question ) could be trained in just as an efficient of a way , but w/o the stress on the joint due to these massiverepetitions and sets.. Please don’t take this the wrong way, I am a trainer ” in progress ” and I love to question/ be questioned ( that’s how we learn, right!? ) other trainers of why and how their reasoning for their programming is / works.”

The question is valid, and i enjoy a good challenge. Here’s my reasoning:

  1. I get bored easily.
  2. It may seem like much of the same moves, but I vary reps, sets, angles, grips, stance, speed, weight constantly.
  3. All moves are functional AND primal.
  4. Core strength and muscular endurance are a high priority for me…I’m a semi-pro tennis player (top ranked USTA Mens Open singles player in NE section).
  5. For myself, and my clients, I want to maximize their power output to make them as strong for their size (pound for pound). This will keep their metabolism revved and make the most of our time in the gym. Also, all of life’s tasks will be a breeze.
  6. By training in the 3 main metabolic pathways (short, middle, and long), a client will have exposure and competence in those distances.
  7. As for joints, they will become stronger and more resilliant to injury by following the workouts. One does NOT start with a full WOD as recommended, but builds a base/familiarity with the main moves (squat, push-up, pull-ups) first. From there, the workouts are scaled (altered towards what the client is physically capable of). Before you know it, they’ll be a WOD addict! I hope this opens your mind to why I perform the workouts the way that I do. I love learning how others train, and do not think this is the end all, be all of workouts. I encourage everyone to find an activity they enjoy, and add in resistance training when they are ready. Understanding the many benefits of a strength training program is the first step. Once the mentality is there, the physical growth may begin.

These are specific reasons why I train the way that I do. I create customized workouts for my clients, so that they will be able to achieve their particular goals.

I’m curious…why do you workout out?

Do you have a sport, or event which you’re training for?

Have you ever added resistance training to your program?

I’d love to know what gets you moving, and I think others would to.  If you’re concerned with signing in to my site, don’t be…I hate spam, and even though you will be prompted to for your email, I would NEVER share it with anyone! Additionally, you can use a made-up user name, too.

Be Well,

Maximillian Barry

Where Nutrition & Fitness Becomes a Lifestyle

9 Responses

  1. For thousands of years people survived by using both their minds and their bodies. It took a process of tens of thousands of years to evolve to the point we’re at. We have very efficient systems for storing energy, burning off heat, keeping our core temperature warm etc. Our body is a very physically tuned machine meant for constant action.

    Only now in very recent history have we acquired the luxury of not physically fighting for survival and becoming sedentary. The problem though is that the machines that our bodies have evolved into need to be used in order to stay in balance.

    I workout because I was literally meant to.

  2. Good stuff man!

    For me, it is the quest to keep pushing myself to move better and lift more. It is me against the iron each time. I am either improving or falling behind.

    Like the Henry Rollins quote “friends come and go, but 200 lbs is always 200 lbs”

    Rock on
    Mike T Nelson PhD (c)

  3. Great blog article! I started working out three years after my third son was born. Until then, it never entered my mind. One weekend we went away with some friends to a hotel and in that hotel was a gym. My friend and I went in…I tried a treadmill, and the feeling was overwhelming. I went home and immediately bought one. From then on (16 years ago), I have been disciplined to exercise for 60 minutes a day. I no longer enjoy the treadmill, but have moved on to boxing, rowing, and, more recently, jumping and dancing on a trampoline. My day does not seem complete without it. As I age, the need to stave off the process has become more urgent…therefore, I will never stop exercising!

  4. I simply work out to keep away from injuries – which are inevadable as we age. I want to be h-e-a-l-t-h-y to participate actively with my grand children when they come my way.

    I simply work out because it looks good and feels good when I stay with it. And it is that much easier when there is someone to aspire too.

    Max, I enjoy your daily WODs. I bring them down to my level and do it. You are an incredible person, writer and a motivator.

    Thx,

    Jana

  5. Triathlons would be tough without working out. 🙂

    Triathlon

    Yes, resistance training is very important. I should do more, and I tend to when I get tired of cardio all the time.

  6. I started working out after a friendly wrestling match with a girlfriend several years ago ended with her pinning me. I couldn’t move! Needless to say I enrolled in a gym the next day.

    Since then my interests have shifted between bodybuilding, muay Thai kickboxing, Western boxing, Crossfit, Kettlebells, etc. I don’t actively participate in any sport currently, so my interests are oriented around aesthetics, health, and wellness.

  7. Great blog!

    I love the great reasons why you train the way that you do. I just had this conversation last week with a trainer who thinks that we should all be training the “text book” way. As trainers we all develop a different way of training depending on who we train and also why we train ourselves.

    I train because I want to be lean and strong, I want to set a positive example to my fellow gym members and to my friends and family, and I also want to continue competing in figure competitions and be the best I can be.

  8. Hey Max, great blog.
    I’m a competitive crossfitter (13th at the NE qualifier last year), hockey player, and chiropractor that sees 300+ people per week. So, I train to keep doing what I love doing for as many years as I possibly can. I supplement as many activities in my life as I can squeeze (hockey, climbing, surfing etc) HIIT sessions like crossfit 4x per week, 3 strength focused WOD’s, 2 Olympic lifting sessions, and a sprinting workout.
    I train for life, focusing on movements, not muscles, and have fun! Check out my blog http://www.drhewitt.wordpress.com
    Keep up the great work!
    Ryan

  9. I have a *very* light workout routine, if you can even call it that..

    I walk every day, about a mile or so, stretch every day, do yoga once a week and play volleyball once a week for fun.

    I used to workout with a bunch of guys in university who followed a very strict routine. I did lots of strength training and short intense cadio sessions. I really got fit. I stopped because of auto-immune like illness (undiagnosed) and have never gotten back into it. Rather than feel jealous when I see other fit people, I have embraced my natural tendency towards laziness. Reading about athletes and fitness training is still fun though.

    I workout the way I do now for my health and to feel good. For me, it’s not about strength, endurance or being able to participate in activities. It’s more about keeping myself moving (at least a little bit!), keeping my energy up, and leaving plenty of room for healing.

Leave a Reply

