WOD 01.18.10

(Rest Day 01.17.10)

________________________

Today started off fantastic, with nothing but positive energy…makes it easier being surrounded with truly amazing friends, FBers, Tweeters, and family!

THANK YOU EVERYONE!!!

________________________

TODAY’S WORKOUT SESSION PART I

* * *

TENNIS

TENNIS ANYONE?

Got a call on Sunday from my client, and good friend Josh Roer- a junior at Bodoin College, MA. He’s on their tennis team there, and is looking to get back into prime shape for his season coming up in May. Tennis is a terrific sport for life, which incorporates both aerobic, and anaerobic elements. To get his endurance up, we drill heavy, and today we ended with the NU-FiT “Triple Play” MetCon Routine here.

TOTAL TENNIS TIME: 75 min, plus 3 min MetCon post WOD.

______________________

After hitting with Josh, I Finished what was left of my Keto Protein Shake (Yummm, recipe here).

Then I was off to Costo…

Today’s score: Organic Grass-fed beef, EVOO, lox, mixed greens, celery, macadamia nuts, lemons, green tea.

Off to the NU-FiT Studio for some heavy lifting…………..Let’s GO!

_______________________

TODAY’S WORKOUT SESSION PART II

* * *

PRE GAME

JUMP ROPE

12 min jump rope/swings/push ups/squats

* * *

MAIN WOD

HEAVY DEADLIFTS

DEADLIFT

Warm up light, then go for Maximum Load for 5 sets at 3 reps each:

1. 100 lbs/ 21+ reps

2. 125/16

3. 175/10

*4. 225/3

*5. 275/3

*6. 295/3

*7. 295/3

*8. 305/3

I took full recovery between sets, and form was good throughout. Felt so darn good, that i decided to break my Deadlift PR on 01.02.10 (here) of 311 lbs for 2 reps…I recall it was NOT pretty. In fact, my form was gross on the 2nd rep, so I barely counted it.

Felt really strong tonight, and it showed, as I continued to plow through…

9. 315/1

10. 325/1

11. 335/1 New 1RM!!!

Boo-yah! Love, love, love seeing strength gain! Form was actually quite good, too.

* * *

AFTER PARTY

JUMP ROPE

300 reps jump rope for time

1:19 min (no misses!)

* * *

HOTEL LOBBY

PULL UPS

100 Jumping Pull Ups for time

1:17 min (1 pause at 77th rep)

* * *

TOTAL WORK: 25 minutes

TOTAL WORKOUT TIME TOAY: 103 minutes

____________________________________

I attribute this strength gain to- wait for it………….REST! Yep, I’ve taken double the amount of Rest Days than most other months. Clean eating is the fuel for optimal performance, and that has been an absolute staple for me. What percentage of your diet do you consider “clean”?

Most people need to force themselves to get their workout routine going, but once you get addicted- it’s REALLY difficult to take even one day off. Maybe that’s just me though. There are plenty worse things out there to be addicted to, right???

Are you making the transition to a healthier life? I’d love to help in any way that I can….hit me up- I love questions 🙂

Be Well,

Maximillian Barry

Where Nutrition & Fitness Becomes a Lifestyle

5 Responses

  1. That is one heck of a workout!! Congrats to you 🙂 Tennis is such a great aerobic workout. It gets your whole body moving and using muscles you didn’t even knew you had! I’m not a pro at it but I love moving around and being active and TENNIS is great for that. Thanks for sharing! Take care 🙂

    Jen

    • Hi Jen,

      Thanks for your input! I hit the courts again today, too. Been playing since I was a lil boy, and haven’t pu the racquet down since! I still compete semi-professionally on the USTA Mens Open Circuit.

      It’s so important for people to find a sport/activity they love, so that fitness doesn’t feel like a chore. Once you get into the habit of sweating, and getting your heart rate up- resistance training should be incorporated, as well.

      I love your enthusiasm! Your blog looks nice, too….Cheers!

  2. Hey!

    That’s so awesome you still compete! Well you just keep that up. I hope you do well 🙂

    I agree 100% with on how important it is for people to find a fitness activity they’ll love so it’s not a chore. Because once you start and sweat and burn it’s awesome! M hope for people in the world is to take a chance on themselves and get fit b/c it’s healthy 🙂

    Thanks for replying back 🙂

    Jen

  3. Been searching for awhile for something like this great info very useful.

Leave a Reply

