WORKOUT CHALLENGE: PULL, PUSH, AND JUMP

WILL YOU STEP UP???

Here’s my challenge to you….

Kevin Past pulls Aircraft weighing 188,694 kg 8.8 meters!!!

What, you don’t want to practice your Aircraft Pulling today? Ok, we can save that for our next Workout Challenge together 😉

* * * * *

THE “PULL, PUSH, AND JUMP” CHALLENGE

* * * * *

If you can you pull, push, and jump- then you can do this Challenge!

Here’s the simple routine:

_________________________________________

_________________________________________

AMRAP (As Many Rounds As Possible) in 20 minutes

3  DEADLIFTS

10  PUSH UPS

15  DOUBLE UNDERS

__________________________________________

__________________________________________

Not completely sure how to execute these exercises?

I’ve provided a picture , with a YouTube Video Link above each one:

1. DEADLIFT

BARBELL DEADLIFT

2. PUSH UP

PUSH UP (SHE’S SHOWING OFF HER ONE-HANDER)

3. DOUBLE UNDERS

JUMPING ROPE

Considerations:

Remember that this routine is scheduled for AMRAP in 20 minutes, so the goal is to get through each move as fast as possible. Calculate when it’s necessary to take a brief pause, but keep the intensity up! The idea behind this Crossfit style workout is to tax you both physically AND mentally.

1. What weight should you use for the deadlifts?

Guys: 225 lbs

Ladies: 185 lbs

These figures are for very experienced deadlifters. To scale the weight down, use a weight that you could perform 8-10 reps with.

2. What if I can’t do that many push ups in a row?

Do your best throughout this entire routine. If needed you can limit your range of motion (ie- knee push ups).

3. Is there any other exercise I can substitute for these crazy double unders?

These DU’s are tricky, but practice is the only way you’ll be able to get the rhythm. High knee tucks makes a good sub here. Also, you may go ropeless! Yep, just pretend like you are actually jumping one….just don’t pretend that you’re working out LOL!!!

* * * * *

I’d like to thank my good friend, and fellow fitness-nut Frank Dennis (@QuantumFit_Indy) who designed this particular routine. Frank and I will be going heads up on this challenge, and will be sharing the results with you. One of the best ways to keep you motivated is to diet and exercise with a partner. Strong support teams increase your chances of making life altering changes. A healthier lifestyle starts today…BRING IT!!!!!

Please post your comments, adjustments, and questions below.

Be Well,

Maximillian Barry

Where Nutrition & Fitness Becomes a Lifestyle

AMRAP in 20 of 3 225lbs DL, 10 Push-Ups, 15 Double-Unders.

9 Responses

  1. Challenging workout! My gosh! I like it though 🙂 I can do push-ups but I don’t know about the one-handed ones! I’ll have to try more jumproping. It’s so good for you…I just forget about doing it. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Jen

    • Jen, you can save the one-handers for you’re 2nd, or 3rd attempt LOL!
      Seriously though, the jump rope is a great way to keep your workouts enjoyable. It also builds coordination, and burn 3 times the amount of calories as steady-state (ie.-treadmill, bike, etc) cardio!

      • Come on….don’t doubt what I can do!!! I’m tougher than you think 🙂 I believe that burns 3 times the calores of other cardio workouts. I’m going to mix some that in with my routine. It’s good to change things up!

        Jen 🙂

  2. Hey lookie!! There’s Rae doing a 1-arm pushup! LOL!

    This looks like a fun challenge!! I don’t know that I will be participating this time, though. :-/ I’m interested to see how people stack up! I hope they post results.

  3. Max,

    Thanks for naming this; I usually never get around to giving them names.

    I managed to “tie” with Dai; 17 agonizing rounds. Not since my CrossFit Certification have I pushed so hard in a workout (can’t let y’all show me up! 🙂 ). I thought I might puke for a while afterward… LOL

    Push-Ups were the bottleneck; DL’s felt like the rest movement (deads are my strongest lift relative to bodyweight, as should be true for most athletes). My Double Unders are adequate; I managed to get through all but one set of 15 without missing a beat.

    Officially, I’m tied with Dai, but he called his workout at 19:18, after completing his 17th round. I had time for exactly 1 DL in my 18th round, so clearly he could’ve gotten more work done. I’ll give the nod to him. 🙂

    So, it’s on you, man! Better bring your A-game!

    Cheers,
    Frank

    • Just took this Workout Challenge for a whirl….amazing!
      I brought my A-game, and finished 18 rounds, plus 1 complete deadlift before the clock ran out!

      The whole time I was thinking I’ve got to at least time you guys (17 rounds). Honestly, at 11 rounds deep, I wasn’t sure 15 rounds would be happening….nearly “lost it”….then hammered out a few more.

      By the 15th round, I found another gear, and knocked out the last in a faster clip than at the get-go!! Does that ever happen to anyone else??

      These moves are a few of my favorites. Managed to get through all sets without breaking. I took calculated breathers in between rounds after 6th round.

      Next time, the goal is 19+ ….

  4. NICE. Did as Rx’d. Mastering the double-under is one of my goals for 2010. That and a 400lb deadlift 🙂

    10 rounds plus 2 deadlifts. I definitely want to do this one again!

    Cheers,
    -Brandon

  5. this was a whole new “fun!”

    agreed…deads felt like the “nice” part! push ups were hell! stayed on toes til 11 mins in…then failure set in. mix of toes and knees for remaining.

    all double unders unbroken.

    11 rounds + 2 deadlifts.

    you 17+ rounders are rockstars!

Leave a Reply

