WHY MUSIC BOOSTS YOUR WORKOUT

Ok, so we shouldn’t *NEED* music to workout…right?

Well, I must say that I don’t know what I’d do without my iPod!!

Have you ever planned an amazing workout; created an amazing playlist; start your warmup, and BAMMM – sound dies out! You look down at your iPod as if maybe you bumped into it- or something- but, alas the battery’s dead. Fortunately it doesn’t happen often, and you still get your workout in – but was it as enjoyable?

WHAT DOES SCIENCE SAY?


There’s actually some scientific benefits of listening to music while you workout…

I. Although performance may or may not be enhanced by the addition of music to the workbout, subjects regularly report that they felt their performance was better with the music accompaniment.

II. Music may evoke pleasant associations, while masking unpleasant stimuli.

III. It may also serve as a distraction to some internal feelings, possibly associated with discomfort.

IV. There are 4 factors that contribute to a song’s motivational qualities: rhythm response, musicality, cultural impact and association.

V. Syncing beats per minute with an exercise pace increases your efficiency.

* References here,  here, and here.

WHAT DO YOU SAY?


Do you listen to music while you workout?

Is it an absolute must-have during exercise?

Does is push you?

Is it all in the mind? If so, what wrong with that?

WHAT DO YOU LISTEN TOO?


I love listening to DJ mixes during my workouts. What type of music are they spinning?…

For me, it’s usually Hip-Hop, or Dance/House! Tiesto, Oakenfold, Foozbol, Sir Charles, Calderone, Clue.

For heavy lifting session, I like heavier music: Drowning Pool, Poppa Roach, Korn, Disturbed, Pantera.

I’d love to hear (punny :-P) about what DJ’s and genres you jam out to while you’re working out.

ROCK ON MY FRIENDS!!!

Thanks for stopping by, and as always…

Be Well,

Maximillian Barry

Where Nutrition & Fitness Becomes a Lifestyle

17 Responses

  1. I totally agree that music helps with workouts. If I am running alone, I like techno/trance. For weights I tend to go for hip/hop.

  2. When I’m sparring I like old school hip hop.

    When I’m lifting I like any kind of new metal.

    🙂

    • Kicking it old school, nice! Possibly some Nas, Tribe, Fugees, Dre & Snoop….

      • Definitely go with hip hop, when doing push-ups, guaranteed better performance – for me anyway.

        Stuck w/ what’s on in the gym, when lifting, because I don’t like wearing earbuds…my headphones tend to be too chunky for working out.

        @Max You are showing your youth…when I hear old school, I think Sugar Hill Gang, Grandmaster Flash, Afrika Bambaataa, KRS-1, Schooly D, Eric B. & Rakim, Public Enemy…;-)

  3. Same as Heather but I love everything. I just need my music loud and fast 🙂 Gets moving and working hard in the gym!!

  4. Music absolutely makes a difference; for just about any workout, metcon or lifting, I like loud, fast, angry stuff… NIN, Linkin Park, Disturbed, Rage Against the Machine, etc.

    Oddly, for 1RM attempts I prefer having no music… at that point it feels like a distraction. I prefer my whole universe be me and bar I’m about to conquer. LOL

    • Never actually thought of it that way on the 1RM’s (One Rep Maximums)…I respect your stance there Frank.

      For me, the heavier the weight, the heavier the tunes!

      Rock on bro!

  5. Hey Max,

    Great looking blog. Very clean and polished. I like the angle you are coming from also.

    I’ll bookmark your blog and come back to see more.

    Many Thanks
    Gavin

  6. I love listening to music when I run, problem is I can’t/don’t for races. So for short runs I try to run sans ipod and listent o the birds, longer runs- love the playlist. My ipod doesn’t keep its charge and burns out all the time. Loved your post, that’s the worst.

  7. This makes very good sense! Now I know why I have always listened to music while working out. Never had thought of the reasons behind it before. Thank you for sharing!

  8. Music during training is a must!

    One of the best things I bought for my gym is a kick butt stereo!

    My favs in the gym are some nice heavy metal such as
    Soilwork
    Slayer
    Mudvayne
    Nothingface
    As I Lay Dying
    Mushroomhead
    Earth Crisis
    Lamb of God
    Zao

    Rock on
    Mike T Nelson PhD(c)

    • Hi Mike,

      Always great to see you here, on Twitter, and on Facebook.! Thanks for the list of your fav heavy tunes brother – will check em out! Keep Rockin’

  9. I’ve been known to listen to the Charlie Brown Christmas soundtrack (yup, in the middle of the summer) on leg days……max squat – 315lbs. :o)

    Depends on my mood at the moment….

Leave a Reply

